Bridport Chess Club has closed and will therefore not be competing this coming season. However, if there is new interest, Malcolm Steevens is hoping the club might be reformed. On the positive side, Div 1 has 2 additional teams – Poole A & Ringwood, and Div 3 has become one team more with Poole B. Div 2 though will be smaller than last year.

Mark Potter has taken over as Secretary at Dorchester and from David Aldwinckle. Mark’s email address is: , 01305 269143 and mob. 07707 639 587

From 5 Oct ’17 an “L” against a player’s name in the results indicates “Local” grade, what has previously been “E” for “Estimated”. The change has been made to bring us in line with the new ECF League Management System (LMS). As Dorset, we are trialling Phase 1 of this results recording software and Phil Wallace will provide a link to the LMS before Christmas 2017.


League Structure 2017/18

Div 1 (6)

Dorchester A

Dorchester B

Poole A


Weymouth A

Wimborne A

Div 2 (4)

Dorchester C

Purbeck A

Weymouth B

Wimborne B

Div 3 (5)

Dorchester D

Purbeck B


Wimborne C

Poole B

Dorset Chess League Team Captains – 2017/18

   Division 1
Dorchester A: Geoff Searing (01305 782371) email

Dorchester B: Dave Hardie (01305 267046) (mob. 0791 9815863) email

Poole A: Cirpiran Stanciu Tel: 079389 22679 e-mail

Ringwood: Martin Clancy – Tel (mob.) 07788 792527 email

Weymouth A: Allan Pleasants (07967 350553 or 01305 771129) email
Wimborne A: Mark Littleton (01747 851445) email
Division 2
Bridport A: Malcolm Steevens (01305 781225 or mobile 07767 200268) email (but please note the club has unfortunately closed and will therefore not be competing in season 2017/18)

Dorchester C: David Aldwinckle (01305262138 / 07977175263) email

Wimborne B: Colin Wilson (home 01202 848349) email
Purbeck A: Steve Peirson (01929 552504) email
Weymouth B: John Kelly (01305 832876) email
Division 3
Dorchester D: Bill Woodhouse (01305 814950) email
Poole B : Tariq Reghif, please contact via the Poole Club Secretary: Ciprian Stanciu (0793 8922679 e-mail – [email protected] or [email protected]

Purbeck B: Derek Mount (07774 248319) email  & deputy captain Jeremy Beling (01929 555167) email

Southbourne:  John Harris (01202 427523) e-mail

Wimborne C: Colin Wilson (home 01202 848349) email

Dorset Chess
Dorset Chess2 months ago
See the Poole Chess website for the fascinating story behind Steve Bailey's visually impaired Barbados cricket tour during July '18. The Poole club ran fund raising activities to enable Steve to take part as Head Coach. The tour was a huge success!
Dorset Chess
Dorset Chess added 4 new photos — at Bournemouth Library2 months ago
Visited the Bournemouth Junior Chess Club this morning. Such a good turn out and thoroughly enjoyed the chess game analysis/lesson with Ian 👍 #juniorchess
Dorset Chess
Dorset Chess4 months ago
Dorset Junior Chess 10am every Saturday morning at Bournemouth Library. Always very well attended. Plus other junior events. Please see Dorset Chess website. for much more
Dorset Chess
Dorset Chess4 months ago
Informal chess every week in Swanage