Chess Events



Dorset is a good choice of county in which to play chess! Over 200 players actively take part in regular club matches and competitions. There are 2 major congresses each year, the Grand and the Dorset Open, plus a Rapidplay held in March. On Sunday, 17 September 2017 the 1st Dorset Blitz Championships will take place in Wareham. In July & August last year, 2016, the 103rd British Championships were held in Bournemouth, with record individual entries – very much down to the considerable efforts of Dorset Chess Association officials Martin Simons and Ian Clark. Clubs playing in the Dorset County and Bournemouth & District Leagues also gave generous financial support to help enable the event to take place.

Finally, chess for juniors is highly organised including coaching and several congresses. Dorset Junior Chess Officer is Eric Sachs.

Steve Bailey fund raising

Alan Dommett reflects on the British Championships, Llandudno 2017 - a year on from Bournemouth

Britsh Chess Llandudno

Llandudno, North Wales

In what seems like no time at all, Bournemouth’s hosting of the British Championships last year has been formally consigned to the record books as the last to be held over a two-week period and Llandudno has now staged the first over a 9-round format, played in half the time. On this occasion Dorset players, quite naturally, were fewer and farther between, Allan Pleasants and Mike Waddington competing in the Championship, James Forster in the Major Open and Martin Simons, Kevin Goater and Martin Clancy in the Over-50 event.

Hopes were high, after a successful opening round for several of the Dorset contingent, in some cases against IM and GM opposition, but as the tournament progressed, so the results regressed and many an opportunity was missed. Mixed fortunes then, but there were some highlights to be had and we begin with Allan Pleasants attempt to land a mortal blow to GM Nick Pert’s title chances after a shock defeat for him in the previous round.

Alan’s analysis of the opening round match Paul Littlewood v Martin Simons appears under “Games” from the main menu and then “Alan’s British 2017”. Paul is a former British Champion.


Chess is a great game for everyone!

Dorset Chess Association supports and encourages chess playing throughout the county

To view club details and make contact with secretaries etc, please see details by clicking on B&DCL & Dorset League on main menu above. Some clubs have websites and links to these are through the menu at the foot of this home page.

If you seek social and informal chess during the day, the Bournemouth, Southbourne, Poole & Wimborne clubs run sessions typically in café type settings. Please click on "Relaxed and casual chess" below

Relaxed and casual chess locally

You may be interested in more informal chess and there are currently these weekly opportunities: Monday Kinson Community Centre, Kinson 1.45pm to 5pm Tuesday Ludo Lounge, Southbourne Grove, Bournemouth 2.30pm to 5pm; Wednesday Flirt Café Chess Club, Bournemouth 2.30pm to 5pm; Thursday Royal British Legion, Wimborne from 10am; Friday The Crooked Book, Boscombe 11am to 1pm

(There are no board fees, but chess players are expected to buy a drink, i.e tea/coffee/soft drink or something to eat)

Laws of Chess

Here is a link to the FIDE website and the laws of chess: Laws of Chess

The laws run into many pages; listed below are a few of the less understood ones:

Extracts from the FIDE Laws of Chess (as at July '17)

(“his” also refers to “her”; in the context of non-congress chess, like our league games, assume we should read "captain[s]" for "arbiter" )


Please also refer to the B&DCL Rules (updated June '17) and the Captains Notes, both on the website

End of extracts. July'17

Dorset Chess
Dorset Chess5 days ago
Dorset Chess
Dorset Chess4 weeks ago
Several Dorset players have been enjoying Castle Chess weekend congresses. Next Castle Congress will be in Fareham.
Dorset Chess
Dorset Chess4 weeks ago
1st Dorset Blitz on Sunday 17th September 2017 at Furzebrook Village, Wareham. 10 minutes per game..