This page gives quick overview of the Dorset Chess League (DCL):

  • The league season runs approximately from October to May
  • Matches are played on weekday evenings, on the home team’s club night, typically starting at 7:30 pm
  • The time control is either 1 hour with 30 seconds increment for the whole game or 35 moves in 1 hour 15 minutes with a 15 minutes quickplay finish.
  • The following clubs participate: Bournemouth, Dorchester, Highcliffe, Poole, Purbeck, Ringwood, Weymouth and Wimborne.  Please see the clubs page for more details.
  • In 2019/2020 there were 18 teams from these clubs competing in 3 Divisions.
    In 2021/2022, as clubs cautiously restart after the COVID inflicted break, there are 13 teams competing in 3 divisions.

DL1 Winners Ringwood

Ringwood receiving the Division 1 trophy in 2019